Home > History

The Literary Network, or LitNet, is a coalition of nonprofit literary organizations, which was founded jointly by the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) and Poets & Writers in 1992 as an extension of the Coalition of Writers Organizations (now defunct), and in response to the freedom of expression controversies surrounding the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).

In 1995, LitNet won its greatest victory by saving NEA fellowships for writers—currently the only individual grants the NEA is empowered by Congress to make—from the attacks during the culture wars happening at the time.

While one of LitNet’s main purposes has been to advocate for literature’s interests within public funding, it has also provided support to issues that greatly affect individual writers and literary organizations, such as intellectual property rights, tax laws, and freedom of expression. Learn more about our current priorities and goals»

Today, LitNet is comprised of 68 organizations who value and continue to promote literature’s contributions to our culture.